Skip to content

Kids at Home

Trying to keep your kids engaged and learning while at home? Check out these links to online learning resources. 

Elementary K-5 Opportunities Secondary 6-12 Opportunities

 

Elementary K-5 Opportunities

The Department of the Navy does not officially endorse any private company or sponsor their products or services.

 

 

Scholastic: Day-by-day projects. https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

 

Sci Girls: PBS STEM series for kids 8-12. http://youtube.com/user/scigirlstv/about

 

SciShow Kids: Science concepts for young minds. http://youtube.com/user/scishowkids/featured

 

Scratch: Programming (ages 8-16). http://scratch.mit.edu

 

Scratch: Writing. http://scratch.mit.edu

 

Sesame Street: Educational games and videos. http://sesamestreet.org

  •  

Spanish Children's Stories: Free Spanish lessons and children's stories. http://thespanishexperiment.com

 

Storyline Online: Actors reading children's books. https://www.storylineonline.net/

 

The Learning Station: Music and movement. https://www.learningstationmusic.com/

 

Tutor.com: Online tutoring. https://military.tutor.com/home

 

World Atlas: Geography information. http://worldatlas.com

 

YouCubed: Math games and courses. http://youcubed.org


 


 

Secondary 6-12 Opportunities

The Department of the Navy does not officially endorse any private company or sponsor their products or services.


Navy General Library Program: The Navy MWR Digital Library provides online resources for Navy families, Sailors, retirees, and civilians for recreation, professional development, and academic support. https://www.navymwrdigitallibrary.org/

4-H Stem Lab: Hands-on STEM activities. http://http://bit.ly/2vmDT0z

BBC Languages: World languages. http://bbc.co.uk/languages

Bill Nye, the Science Guy: Full length clips from 100 shows. http://youtube.com/user/TheRealBillNye/featured

Brain Pop: Educational resources by subject. http://brainpop.com

Breakout EDU: Breakout room-style learning activities. http://breakoutedu.com/funathome

Calc Chat: Calculus problems. http://calcchat.com/

Code: Computer science. http://code.org

Conjuguemos: Spanish, French, German, Italian, Korean, Portuguese, Latin. http://conjuguemos.com

Constitution Center: Interactive Constitution resources. https://constitutioncenter.org/

Cool Math: Math games and lessons. http://coolmath.com

CrashCourse: Educational videos-multiple subjects. http://thecrashcourse.com

Extra Math: Math lessons. http://xtramath.org

Eyewitness to History: History readings/videos. http://eyewitnesstohistory.com

Google Art Project: 1,000 works of art. http://artsandculture.google.com

Khan Academy: Online tutoring and lessons. http://khanacademy.org

Kuta Software Worksheets: Printable math worksheets. http://kutasoftware.com

Languages Online: French, Spanish, German, Italian, Latin. http://languagesonline.org.uk/Hotpotatoes

Living Room Candidate: Political history. http://livingroomcandidate.org

Math Playground: Math games up to 6th grade. http://mathplayground.com/games

Math-Drills Worksheets: Free printable math worksheets. http://math-drills.com

NMAI Native Knowledge 360: Materials and videos. http://americanindian.si.edu

PHET Interactive: Interactive science and math simulations. https://phet.colorado.edu/

Poetry Foundation: Online poetry collection. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/learn/teens

Project Gutenberg: Online library of free eBooks. http://www.gutenberg.org/

PurpleMath: Online math courses. https://www.mathhelp.com/pre-algebra-help

Read Works: Reading comprehension by grade level. https://www.readworks.org/

Science Journal for Teens: Science research adapted for students. http://sciencejournalforkids.org

SciShow Kids: Science concepts for young minds. https://www.youtube.com/user/scishowkids/featured

Scratch: Programming (ages 8-16). https://scratch.mit.edu/

Seterra Geography: Geography map quiz game. https://www.seterra.com/

Smithsonian History Explorer: Standards based resources. https://historyexplorer.si.edu/

Smithsonian Learning Lab: Interactive learning. https://learninglab.si.edu/

Smithsonian Online Exhibitions: Art History. https://library.si.edu/exhibitions/online

Smithsonian TweenTribune: Reading comprehension by grade level. https://www.tweentribune.com/

TED Ed: Educational videos on multiple subjects. https://ed.ted.com/

TimeMaps: Interactive world history. https://www.timemaps.com/

Tutor.com: Online tutoring. https://military.tutor.com/home

Virtual Nerd Videos: Standards-based math videos. http://virtualnerd.com/

 

Back to top